MST Gear List

It’s less than one week away from my leave date (May 1st) and I’ve got everything (at least for now) I think I need… Probably more. Countless hours of research, books, and trips to REI have hopefully lead me to have the most kickass gear list ever. But let’s face it, I’m a newbie at all this so I’m sure that’s not the case. And please, if you’re knowledgable about better brands, better gear or simply just know better than I do, worry about yourself. I’ll figure it out along the way (and probably have a story or two about it). I’m so excited about my gear its crazy… lets just pray that it loves me back! With that being said here’s what I ended up with: 

    Backpack and Navagation

    • Deuter Act Lite 60+10 SL backpack 
    • Silva compass
    • SPOT GEN3 satellite messenger
    • NCMST Trail guides, on phone 
    • The Mountains to Sea Thru-Hikers Manual by Scott Ward


    Sleeping and Shelter

    • REI Joule mummy sleeping bag 
    • Therm-A-Rest ProLite Plus sleeping pad 
    • Aeros Pillow Premium 
    • Big Agnes Fly Creek UL 1 tent 
    • Big Agnes Fly Creek UL 1 tent footprint 


    Cooking and Water

    • Jetboil MiniMo stove
    • Jet Boil Jet power fuel bottle 
    • Bear canister
    • Light My Fire Spork Titanium
    • Embark 2L hydration reservoir 
    • Hydrapak, Stash 750ml collapsible bottle and Nalgene water bottle 
    • Lifestraw purification straw (ICE)


    Clothing and Items Worn (2 pair of clothes, rotated)

    • Salmon XR Mission Trail Running shoes 
    • Mizuno Wave Inspire running shoes (backup shoes)
    • Kühl Durango pants
    • Champion running shorts
    • UA Tech V-neck Twist tee
    • The North Face EZ tee 
    • Merano cotton tee, camp tee
    • Gilligan & O’Malley sleepwear, camp pants
    • Patagonia hat
    • Buff(s)
    • Smartwool PhD hiking socks, 2 pair (short and long)
    • Under Armour UA Pure Stretch Cheeky 
    • Patagonia barely bikini 
    • Patagonia women’s barely bra x 2
    • THINX panties, hip hugger and sport
    • Outdoor Research Deviator Hoody (light shell)
    • Patagonia Women’s Nano Puff Jacket
    • REI Trail Running Gaiters
    • VivoFit watch
    • Target sunglasses
    • Bandanna


    Other Clothing 

    • Coleman x-large poncho (extra) 
    • REI raincoat 
    • Teva flip flops, camp shoes
    • Plus a few more shirts, shorts and socks to be sent via resupply if and when needed

    Small Essentials and Other Packed Items

    • Toiletries: toothpaste, travel toothbrush, floss, Olay face lotion with SPF
    • First Aid/ Other: roll gauze, ibuprophin, Claritin D, Benadryl, Mydol, anti diarrheal, superglue, neosporin, silica gels, fingernail clippers, mole skin and new skin
    • Whistle 
    • Duct tape
    • Lighter and matches
    • Gerber Suspension Multi tool
    • Jungle Juice, bug repellent
    • Princeton Tec LED Headlamp
    • Life Gear LED flashlight
    • Extra batteries
    • Olympus Stylus camera
    • iPhone 5S
    • Rite in the Rain Outdoor journal (comfort item
    • Military pen (comfort item)
    • Garbage bags, pack liners
    • Sea to Summit dry sack, 8 L (for toiletries and small essentials)
    • Ziplock gallon bags, for taking out trash and washing clothes
    • BearVault 500 food container
    • REI 15L stuff sack, keeping clothes dry
    • U-Dig-It Pro stainless steel trowl
    • Diva Cup
    • GoGirl
    • Cottonelle Flushable Wipes
    • REI Lite MultiTowel
    • Dr. Bronner’s Organic Liquid Soap 
    • Trek & Travel Pocket Laundry Wash
    • Safety pins
    • Sewing kit
    • UTS Paracord 550, 30 feet
    • Ducks Back Raincover, for pack
    • Drivers license, debit card and cash 


    And last but not least, two of my favorite items on my list…

    • Mountain Smith Trekker FX (trekking poles)


    The top screws off and my camera twirls on and now I’ve got a tripod type set up for pictures! Plus, they’re collapsible and super lightweight which is handy and needed on the trail. 

    Food

    I won’t go into too much detail about my food because I’m sure my tastes/ cravings will change throughout my time on the trail. But to start with I’ll carry a weeks worth of food, including snacks. I’ll resupply throughout small towns I pass and have a few boxes sent to me with much needed clean shirts, socks, and food and other little items that might be needed. Here’s a good example of items I’m packing. 


    Obviously this is not all of it but it’s a good mix of things that will fill me up, keep my energy up, make me happy, and keep me alive. That’s really all I’m going for with the food… Stay tuned. *Note: There is no wine bottle pictured here… Lets hope I survive. 

    So there you have it! That’s what I’m packing up, wearing on my back and eating for 2.5/3 months. I’m sure throughout my trek I’ll get rid of unnecessary items and maybe even add a few things I need along the way. Until then I think I’ve got it all covered. 

    My next update could very well be sent from the trail. Holy crap, it’s happening!! 

    Thank you everyone for you support, prayers, good vibes and love!!!! I’m so incredibly excited for this journey and I appreciate more than words can say how glad I am you’re all a part of it! 

     Love, 

    Kimberly

      10 thoughts on “MST Gear List

      1. Good luck Kimberly… I can’t to read more of your travels. I’m living vicariously through you on this adventure. Be safe! 💗🙏🏻

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This will be one of the best experiences of your life Kimberly
        We look forward to hearing all about it and folks your journey
        Lots love
        Be safe xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      Leave a Reply

      